link me (lick me?)








�sleepyzoe 2003-2005
|| Really Big News finally revealed! ||

2004-07-18
12:38 p.m.
The current mood of sleepyzoe@webmail.diaryland.com at www.imood.com


**comments are now located at the end of each entry!**

For someone on vacation, I certainly haven't been doing much relaxing. Okay, well, there was last Sunday when CP took me to see Farenheit 9/11 (which exceeded my expectations, seeing how I'm not a big fan of Michael Moore). Then there was Wednesday night, and the oh-so-amazing 311 show (accompanied, of course, by the delightful CP). Oh yes, and there was Thursday when I cooked CP dinner, and we watched ATHF, Fishing with John, and played a drinking game while watching Iron Chef. And currently, I'm waiting for him to get here so we can spend the day together.

I'm absolutely smitten. *squee*

In between drinking, carousing, and general tomfoolery with CP, I've been a very busy girl indeed.

I had to clean my apartment, do dishes, do a ton of laundry, get a hair cut, run errands, package and ship a bunch of stuff I sold on ebay (which meant three trips to the post office in one week...eep!), change all my bedding (including the bedskirt...which is no small feat when you have a queen sized bed, and you're doing it alone). Let's see, what else have I done? Tried to update my diary, read diaries, finish JL's corset, start a new corset, and work a couple days at 2nd Job. Busy busy.

I go back to Shit Job, which I'm dreading like nothing else. But that's okay, because in 7 weeks, I won't be there anymore.

That's right.

7. More. Weeks.

This is my Really Big News. I'm quitting Shit Job!

I asked my parents to cosign a loan for me, and I'm going to work on Sug@rKitty fulltime! I'm going to keep 2nd Job (hello, fabric store discounts!), and probably pick up a 2nd 2nd job (would that be a 3rd job?!) waiting tables a couple nights a week.

For a year, I've been planning how to get this venture off the ground. Even longer than that, I've been planning to start my own business (the corsets were not the first idea I had...just the first one I found feasible). I whine and bitch about getting it off the ground, but really, I have a lot more planned out than I've mentioned.

My main problem has been money. Well, I've received so much support from friends, family, and friends' family, that I sucked it up and asked for help. A measly little signature. Not even borrowing money from my family. I'm 99% sure they're going to cosign for me; they're just as excited about this as I am.

I'm going to roll my 401K over into an IRA, that way I have my retirement at least semi-covered for now. I'm going to meet with an accountant to help me set up taxes. I'm going to get a vendor's license and a federal tax ID, so I'm legit.

With the loan I take out, I'll pay off my credit cards in addition to getting all my supplies. Basically, all the corsets I make will be paying off my loan (and hence, the credit cards!). The two part time evening jobs will pay for rent, utilities and other necessities.

If I fail, well at least I tried. I'm almost 26. I'm not married, no kids, no house or mortgage payment to make. When else will I have such an opportunity to make my dream come true? Why has it taken me this long to realize that I deserve to have my dreams come true. I have the chance, the perfect chance, to do this. I'll never forgive myself if I don't.

I'd rather be broke and doing something I love, than be broke and working for Hell, Inc.

And I'm scared shitless. I'm so so scared. I mentioned before, I'm not a big risk-taker. This is an enormous risk...albeit a calculated risk, but a risk nonetheless.

The first few months are gonna be tough. I'll be cranking out the website and working on samples. I have a few connections already (when I have samples to show), places to advertise, and most importantly, my website. I can do this, right?

Of course I can!

Anyhow, CP should be arriving any minute now, so I must go pretty myself up.

Happy Sunday!

xoxo
sz





Comments:

**12 smooches for me!**






Today's Fortune
Joys are often in the shadows cast by sorrows.
Lucky Numbers: 3, 5, 11, 21, 31, 40



Mrs. SugarKitty
2005-11-02
'ello 'ello!
2005-06-26
Viva Las Vegas!
2005-03-30
confusing use of time
2005-03-15
Francis: Center Stage
2005-01-28