link me (lick me?)








�sleepyzoe 2003-2005
|| I'll give you your damn corset! ||

2004-07-20
9:57 a.m.
The current mood of sleepyzoe@webmail.diaryland.com at www.imood.com


**comments are now located at the end of each entry!**

I woke up this morning to a very annoying email from my current corset comission (I'm doing two corsets for a woman in England...one for a bridesmaid's dress, and one for her own wedding dress).

Initially, she told me she needed them both by September (when she commissioned me in May). Not a problem. I explained to her from the begining that I had one other corset to finish (Ms. Lovejoy's), and that I had two jobs. I also explained that because of her, ahem, size, it would take a little longer. There were also two weeks in May, which I'm sure you'll recall, Dear Readers, when I was sick and got nothing done. Even with all this, having them finished on time still did not present a problem.

JL's corset took me a lot longer than I expected. Having never worked with velvet before, I ran into a lot of problems I didn't forsee. Adding the velvet piping (also a new material for me) just compounded the difficulties I encountered. Obviously, the effort paid off, but not without a lot of headache. I had to redo everything at least twice.

One more setback for the English corset's begining.

During all this, the woman emails me and tells me that her friend's wedding has been moved up a few weeks, and she'll need the bridesmaid corset by August 22nd instead. Still, not a problem.

I told her it would be done within the next few weeks (this was two weeks ago), and not to worry. The email I get this morning is from her in a state of panic because she doesn't have the corset yet.She even asked for my home phone number! Mmkay. Correct me if I'm wrong, but August 22nd is a month away. And I'm almost done with the damn corset ANYHOW.

I told her if she wanted the corset on July 22nd, she should have said so. I cannot read minds and determine that "I need the corset by August 22nd" really means "I need the corset a month before the wedding or else I will be thrown into a state of uncontrollable panic."

I really don't get people.

Even having to send it overseas is not such a problem. They have such wacky inventions as Airmail and Express Delivery, at least the last I checked.

I know I will encounter this shit all the time when I do this for a living. It's just 8 million times more stressful when I'm in the throes of starting my new business, and my mom hasn't set a date for when we can take out the loan, and I'm sitting here rotting away uselessly in this goddamnedcubiclewhenIcouldbeathomesewingforcrissakes!

At least I'm learning tons of stuff about potential pitfalls/rough spots before I actually start the business.

Note to self: Add a disclaimer on your website about due dates and weddings. If one wants a corset on a certain date, one should specify said date, instead of expecting seamstress to automatically undertand that you really meant a month prior to the due date.

*sigh*

46 more days at Shit Job. 46 more days.

I'm trying sooooo very hard to sit here and work like a good little Drone, but it's more and more difficult with each passing minute. The urge to surf the internet 8 hours a day is overwhelming at times. Must. Not. Surf. Net.

At this point, it's not as though I'm terribly concerned about getting in trouble...but I don't want them to find out prematurely that I'm quitting (and thus be forced out sooner than I'm willing to go), or worse...get fired. I have to get the loan while I still have this income. Otherwise...well...I'm fucked.

That's all I've got for now...I'm still all aglow over my roses. They brighten up my cubicle so very nicely.

xoxox
sz





Comments:

**3 smooches for me!**






Today's Fortune
He who laughs, lasts.
Lucky Numbers: 3, 96, 23, 1, 29



Mrs. SugarKitty
2005-11-02
'ello 'ello!
2005-06-26
Viva Las Vegas!
2005-03-30
confusing use of time
2005-03-15
Francis: Center Stage
2005-01-28